Skype and Facebook to join forces?

As if we don’t hear enough about Facebook and how everyone has one or should get one (Although there is probably only a small percent of people who are still out of the Facebook loop). Rumor has it that Facebook is going to team up with Skype. Oh my. Here we come 2010. We thought Facebook was a great way to connect with friends but now it gets better. We will be able to actually see the person’s face which could have some positives along with the negatives. Positives being that you could connect with some long time friends or see a family member that lives far away. It’s more personal. Negatives being you may not want to see that particular person who keeps on skyping you. Also, how much is this going to cost you? Would you have to get a Skype account if you don’t have one or will Facebook connect you to it? Will they start charging you for having a Facebook account or will the Skype feature be separate? So many questions that need answers. I guess we will just have to wait and see. Skype will have more to gain in this partnership and that is Facebook’s 500+ million users. Facebook is more popular due to the simple fact that it is free and has so many different applications. Who would of thought that turning Facebook from a college student only website years ago into a website for anyone and everyone would generate such hype? Now they may have Skype?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natalie Stoos
    Oct 04, 2010 @ 21:03:32

    I guess it doesn’t surprise me that Facebook is advancing with another feature by possibly teaming up wtih Skype. Even though it doesn’t appeal to me, everyone seems to want a piece of the billion dollar company. Why not have yet another element and merge the two?

    Reply

  2. margaretsteck
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 22:02:01

    Facebook is holding a press conference tomorrow http://tinyurl.com/24st5ev. Mashable believes that the reason for the press conference is to announce the integration with Skype, but I guess we won’t find out until tomorrow! I just hope that they will continue to have the hide button, because I have too many facebook friends that I don’t really like to talk to on a regular basis.

    Reply

  3. Bob Ringer
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 16:28:15

    This seems like the next logical step for Facebook. The site already allows members to chat using an instant message feature and adding Skype, a program that seems to be quickly rising in popularity would enhance Facebook’s powers of connecting people. It seems like a good idea, but it all depends on how it is done. If the site were to begin charging members to join, I think there would be a pretty noticeable backlash. Sure, there would be many people willing to pay for the use of Facebook. However, I think many people, who check their profiles infrequently, would jump ship the moment a fee was instituted. I think it would be in the best interest of both Facebook and Skype to join forces and offer their services free to members. At the very worse, this move would give Skype countless new members and give Facebook users yet another reason to log on.

    Reply

  4. aisenberg10
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 23:22:45

    Who would have thought when we entered college 3-5 years ago that when we all got a facebook that it could even turn into a video chat? I thought it was awesome when it adopted a chat option but this is almost going over the hill. I agree with what Bob said about this being the next logical move for facebook. I mean what else could you possibly add? I would advise fb to be careful, though, because the more stuff they add the more they get away from what their original goal was.

    Reply

  5. Yoonki
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 19:26:28

    Facebook with Skype? Facebook is becoming such a giant. It’s simply about taking a half trillion users to Skype, which is sweet for the both companies. Many people are aware of Skype and they know where it is, but I guess most of them are just too reluctant to start something new. Making it a part of Facebook would be a good strategy to absorb them. I don’t think I’m going to use it, though.

    Reply

  6. Jessica Hanevik
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 19:29:35

    I think that’s a great idea. I have Facebook and Skype, but I’ve never spent enough time trying to figure Skype out. I know how to use Facebook though so it shouldn’t be too hard to figure Skype ON Facebook out. I highly doubt they would start charging for Facebook in general because there would be many people who would give up on it. I know I would. The only people who would pay would be the obsessed Facebook stalkers in my opinion. It’s just not worth it.

    Reply

  7. dustyne k
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 20:25:02

    I had a friend in Germany who was studying abroad and Skype helped us keep in touch and Facebook was always a good way to see what she was doing and her pictures!

    Reply

  8. ashleejwhite
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 15:20:46

    I like the idea of Facebook being combined with Skype. I do not really use Skype but it seems more ideal and practical to me than Farmville or any of those games. I would probably use Skype if it was connected to FB in an easy-to-use way. Guess we will see!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

